Book Review – Star Wars: Dark Force Rising

 

 

 

 

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

I realize it’s been a while since my last post, but that’s what happens when you move to a new place and get your first job out of university. In other words, life got busy. Surprisingly, I’ve had a lot more time to set aside for some of the more simple pleasures, like reading for instance, which has allowed me to reward all of you wonderful followers with the first book review since… well, whenever my last one was.

Oh, and I should also mention, in case you haven’t noticed already, that I am changing the look of my blog. As much as I love the colour red, admittedly it was getting a little hard on the eyes, not to mention a little boring. Unfortunately, this change means that I need to spend a bit of time fixing a few things that the new theme went and altered, so if you’re unable to read some of the posts or if something is acting funny when you’re trying to click on it, then that’s probably why.

So, without further ado, here’s what I thought of Timothy Zahn’s “Star Wars: Dark Force Rising”.

 

Darkforcerising

stars-5
WARNING: POTENTIAL SPOILERS (I always try my best to avoid spoiling a book for others, but I can’t make any guarantees. Hopefully anyone reading this is already aware that Darth Vader is Luke Skywalker’s father, and if not… Oops :P)
I previously posted a mid-way review for this book, figuring it might take a while until I actually made it to the end with everything that’s been happening lately, and I felt it was my duty to share at least some of my thoughts with you guys. Since then, my impression of this book has only improved. My favourite parts in this book are definitely the interactions between Mara Jade and Luke Skywalker, mostly because she has her sights set on killing him, and yet it ends up with either him saving her life, or her begrudgingly going to him for help. It’s my new favourite example of a love-hate relationship… that’s not to say that they’re in love with each other, but there’s definitely some kind of connection between them that cannot be ignored.
My next favourite, of course, is the Lando – Han tag team, getting up to all sorts of shenanigans as usual, mostly Han dragging Lando into missions that he doesn’t really want any part of. Probably due to past experiences that didn’t always end so well for him. They definitely had more presence in this book, most likely because the conflict between them and the new imperial fleet had amplified substantially.
That’s another thing I really liked about this book. The first one was more of an overview of what was going on with all the members of the original star wars gang since they blew up the Star Destroyer and the Empire crumbled beneath the feet of those who had chosen the path to the dark side. That’s not to say that nothing happened, but this one was definitely a lot more actioned packed, and you can tell that a whole lot of s*** is gonna be going down in the next one with the lovely little cliff hanger he left at the end.
Then there’s the crazy Jedi master C’baoth, who has clearly spent a little too much time by himself. At first I thought it might just be a character quirk, like when Luke first met Yoda. He was a little weird, speaking mostly in riddles and rummaging through his stuff. It was a delightful quirkiness that made you smile when you saw it. C’baoth is just… nuts! He has been driven mad by his own ideals, which pretty much involves Jedi becoming the rulers of everything and everyone. Now, maybe he turns out to be a good guy in the next one, and that everything until now has been an act, although I find it hard to believe after what happened at the end [don’t worry, I’ll keep the details to myself].
Overall, it was a damn good read. It was one of those books where the more I read, the more I wanted to keep reading, which surprised me because I was originally hesitant to read these books in the first place. Now, I can’t wait to find out what happens next, especially after what they discovered at the end of this one… let’s just say that certain events are seem to be repeating themselves, and it doesn’t look to good for the good guys.

I’m actually gonna take a little break from the series to finish another book I had started reading a while back, but set aside to start reading this series. Good Omens is a novel I’ve wanted to read for a very long time, ever since a friend of mine used to read it to me on the bus on our way to school. I used to be able to read books in any moving vehicle, but after a while I found myself getting a little motion sick, which is why I was very grateful that she was willing to read to me. Also, I didn’t own the book at the time, and she was giving it so much praise that I knew I had to read it myself someday.

In the meantime, feel free to leave your thoughts on this book, or any other book, in the comments, and as always, happy reading!

 

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

