Star Wars: Dark Force Rising – Midway Book Review & More!

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

As winter finally begins to say its goodbyes and Spring comes in to takes its place, embracing us with its long awaited warmth, our minds also begin to lose their fatigue, overcoming the urge to hibernate and instead succumbing to the overwhelming need to dive head first into even more books. After all, there’s nothing like lying down on our backs in a luscious green meadow, holding a book high to the sky so that we can absorb both the book and the beautiful scenery into our eyes.

Unfortunately, if you’re in the Ottawa area like me, then your must have dropped down into your stomach as white flakes of frozen water began pouring from the sky for the umpteenth time. In a way, it was to be expected. After all, Ottawa weather is known for teasing us by offering a sample of nice weather, and then ripping it from our hands without any mercy. I love snow as much as a next person, but even I feel that it has overstayed its welcome. It’s almost getting to the point where we might have to officially change when the first day of spring is.

 Putting the disappointing weather aside, I have decided to provide all of you lovely booknerds with a pre-review of one of the books I am in the midst of reading. As you all know, I’m a slow reader. Avid, but slow. It can take me months to get through a single novel, regardless of how much I’m getting into the story. I’ve been getting some reading tips from my roommates, and I can feel my word intake speeding up already, but you still might have to wait a bit until I finish my current novel.

However, seeing as I’ve made it to the halfway point, I wanted t share my thoughts with you thus far.

Star Wars: Dark Force Rising by Timothy Zahn

Star Wars Dark Force Rising

Star Wars: Dark Force Rising is the sequel to Heir to the Empire from Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn Trilogy, a series which takes place five years after the events of the final Star Wars movie [the actual final one, not the ones they made after the original… you know, the ones that could have been good but for some reason weren’t]. Luke Skywalker is among the last of the Jedi , and therefore must carry the burden of not only training the next generation of Jedi, but also building up the new Republic.

In this action-packed sequel, remnants of the Empire are closing in, doing everything they can to get their hands on Leia and the twins she will soon give birth to. At the same time, Luke has finally tracked down who he believes to be the last of the Jedi masters… and let’s just say he isn’t quite what he expected. He’s certainly no Yoda, but Luke still has a great deal to learn before he can truly claim to be a Jedi master himself. Han and Lando, as always, get themselves into quite a bit of trouble, almost to the point where they’re questioning each others loyalties, but that just keeps things interesting. Then there’s the Noghri , most of whom are convinced that they must forever remain indebted to the Empire, while others realize that this is not a way of life that can continue into the future.

There is so much going on in this book already, and there’s still so much more to come. What I really like about Timothy Zahn’s writing is that he has captured the characters perfectly, and even with the new characters, he makes it feel as though they’ve been part of the of the star wars universe all along.

There used to be this unspoken rule that went around when I was young, which stated that if you were a star trek fan, then you weren’t allowed to like star wars. Well, to that I say if loving both scifi universes is wrong, then I don’t want to be right. My love of Star Wars has been around almost as long as my love of star trek, and you know why that is? Aside from both being based in the realm of science fiction, comparing these two universes is like comparing pokemon cards and yugioh cards; they’re just not comparable because they’re both good for very different reasons.  

Based on what I’ve read so far, I would definitely recommend this book to any and all star wars fans… heck, I would go so far as to recommend it to all science fiction fans! 

Now, while I’m in the mood for recommending things, if you haven’t had a chance to play this game, then I suggest you hop on Steam right now and get yourself a copy.

DSC07731I happened to come across this copy while I was at Value Village, and since it only cost a couple bucks, I saw no reason not to. I remembered seeing one of my brothers play it, and I knew my boyfriend was a big fan of it, so I knew it was good. It’s a bit of an older game, so the graphics aren’t the best, but the storyline and dialogue are amazing, and that’s something that’s hard to find in any game. It’s also a good game for someone like me, who is still relatively new to the gaming world outside of Pokemon, Tetris, Heroes of Might and Magic and Super Mario kart.

While still on the topic of science fiction, here’s today’s random question, which you can feel free to leave a response to in the comments below:

Q: Just like the kids from my youth claimed that you were not allowed to like both star wars and star trek, did the kids from your own youth come up with similarly crazy rules?

 

That’s all for today. Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments below any time, and until next time, happy reading! 

Cheers,

BookNerd

 

Leave a Reply

