Things to look forward to…

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

There are always so many things to look forward to in life; birthdays, Christmas, Halloween, 50% off sales at HMV, meeting your celebrity crush at Comiccon, etc… etc… Even if it’s just the little things, like getting to see your boyfriend after a long day at work, or playing with a cat you just met on the side of the street. There is just no end to the things we can see and do, and I think for many of us, it is those little things that keep us going, especially during those times when we realize the limitations of our mortal lives. When you only have one life to live, those little things should be cherished even more.

For me, it’s the thought that there will always be more books to read that drives me. It’s not the only thing, mind you, for life is never that simple, but if it wasn’t for the knowledge that there will always be another book to lay my hands on no matter how many books I’ve already read, mine would be a very sad existence indeed. We all need an escape from reality every now and again, otherwise we would go berserk from the stress and pressures of everyday life. Things like dragons, wizardry, hobbits and elves may be nothing more than fictitious concepts, but for some, these things are a symbol of hope, justice, courage and the possibility of better things to come. I would not be the person I am today if it wasn’t for a dear friend of mine introducing me to the world of Harry Potter in the fourth grade.

I was a quiet, awkward and anti-social introvert for a better part of my youth, struggling to find my place amongst those who already seemed to have everything figured out. Everyone has moments where they feel like a complete outsider, and for those fortunate few, the feeling is only temporary. I still find myself struggling to find my place, but ever since the day I first read Harry Potter and the Philosophers stone, my world has steadily undergone a change, and mostly for the better.

Now, reading and writing have become two of the biggest parts of who I am in the present and the future, right alongside my family, friends and the love of my life. This is why, even though I used to feel guilty about buying books when I still had so many in my possession already that remained unread, I can now buy books without experiencing that same guilt. Why? To put it simply, books are kind of like food; if you can’t see the food in front of you, then you’re less likely to eat it. It’s the same with books, in these sense that if you can’t see the book right in front of you, you’re less likely to read it. I wish to read as many books as I can, so if I can find books for a decent price, then I don’t see anything wrong with splurging a little bit every now and again.

In one of my previous posts, I started a list of places that I highly recommend people to stop by if they’re looking to purchase books at a reasonable price. My favourite’s to date are mostly used bookstores, and I have another one to add to the list.

4. Value Village

Yes, I realize that this is not strictly a bookstore, but you would be hard pressed to find a better bang for your buck. I usually drop in to browse their clothing selection, but there hasn’t been a single time when I haven’t found myself wondering over to their little book corner. The great thing about used books is that you’re more likely to find books that you’ve never seen or heard of before, or in other cases, you’ll find that one book you’ve spent ages searching for.

DSC07697

These are just a few of the little beauties I stumbled upon during my most recent trip to Value Village. Each one of them stood out to me for a different reason. The Alice Munro collection, for instance, reminded me of the journalism internship I completed last summer out in Huron County. One of the articles I wrote required me to go on a self-guided tour of all the locations that Alice Munro had either visited herself or wrote about in her short stories. It’s always fascinating to see how much a person’s writing is directly influenced by the people they meet and the places they’ve been. The novel by Terry Goodkind is based on the same universe as the Sword of Truth series, which I’m still trying to make my way through. I feel inspired by authors who are capable of organizing a story in a way where it can keep going from one book to the next. I’ll be lucky if I can complete a trilogy, let alone an 11 book series! Arctic Chill was recommended to me by my friend/roommate from Sweden, who is really into mystery and crime novels. Although not usually my cup of tea, I must confess that the synopsis did peek my interest somewhat. The last book… actually, that’s one I borrowed from my sister-in-law over the Christmas holidays which I have yet to get around to reading.
I’m going to have to teach myself some techniques that will help me to read books at a much quicker pace. That being said, here’s this weeks question:

Q: How do you read books quickly without missing any of the crucial details?

This is all to say that there will be many more book reviews to come, which means a great deal more for all of you lovely booknerds to look forward to. In the meantime, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

