Words of Wisdom: Inspiration for Aspiring Writers

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

Looks like Word of the Week isn’t the only thing that’s making a comeback on this blog. For writers, the biggest obstacle is ourselves; our doubts, our second guesses, our writers block and our inability to see the end result of our labours amidst the cutthroat competition and our own self deprecation. I have started and stopped many stories, most of which I was certain would be my greatest masterpiece when the words first began to pour out of the creative recesses of my brain and onto my computer screen. There are many reasons why I haven’t been able to see any of my creations through to the end, but the most prominent of them all is lack of self-motivation as a result of the afore mentioned obstacles. However, this has not stopped me from continuing to pursue my dreams of becoming a writer. Why? Because every time a pick up a new book, it’s impossible to not be inspired. Every single one of those authors had to start somewhere. No one is great at what they do from the very beginning, and in order to become great, you cannot avoid the blood, sweat and tears that comes with the territory.

Todays quote is from one of my all time favourite authors, whose literary prowess and clever wit still have me coming back for more. His style is unique in a way that cannot be described by words… although if I did have to slap a label on it, I would have to say it’s unorthodox, satirical and clever. Who else could I be referring to than the infamous Neil Gaiman. Ever since one of my childhood friends read Good Omens to me during our morning bus rides to school, I have found myself helplessly ensnared by his imagination.

This quote is one that I only stumbled upon recently, but I shall forevermore use these words as my eternal inspiration for everything I do…

“The world always seems brighter when you’ve just made something that wasn’t there before.” 

I’ve always wondered why my heart swelled with happiness whenever I made something with my own two hands. One of my roommates recently taught me how to crochet, and when I held that bright red scarf I made all on my own for the first time, I honestly did feel like the world had become a fraction brighter. It’s a small thing, I know, but not everything we do has to change the world on such a grand scale. If each and every one of us put our dedication into making one thing that wasn’t there before, then the world would be filled with over 7 billion new things. It’s really inspiring when you think of it like that, which is why no matter what, I shall continue to do my best to bring something new into this world.

I don’t usually hear back from you lovely booknerds, but I’ve always gone by the philosophy that it doesn’t hurt to ask. That being said, if there are any quotes that you would like to see shared on my blog, I encourage you to post it in the comments below, or on my World in Writing facebook page. I look forward to reading what motivates you to write, and until next time, happy reading! 

Cheers,

Booknerd

One thought on “Words of Wisdom: Inspiration for Aspiring Writers

Leave a Reply

