New Year, New Friends, New Books

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

It’s funny how much we anticipate the coming of the new year; marking it with doodles and illustrations on the calendar, hastily writing down our new years resolutions that are unlikely to actually be fulfilled, making plans with friends and family to stay up until midnight (only some of whom will actually stay up until then), and then finally watching the sky light up with fireworks as we reflect on how awesome or horrible the past year has been. Yes, the coming of a new year always seems like a big deal, but it’s also one of those things where once the new year has finally arrived, all of the excitement disappears in an instant, because now we have to actually start making good on all of those new years resolutions, and if you’re anything like me, it can feel like one of the most daunting tasks in the world. All of that being said, I have thoroughly enjoyed my start to the new year.

First off, I have a list of books that I plan on finally working my way through – not that I consider reading work – and I have a feeling that this time, I’ll actually make good on this resolution at the very least.

Secondly, I have returned to Ottawa, the city I love, and I have the chance to explore it all over again through the eyes of my two new roommates who are here through the university exchange program. Neither of them have even set foot in Canada before, which places the burden of responsibility on me to show them just how wonderful a country this is. It’s both a terrifying and an exciting task.

Thirdly, I came up with yet another idea for a story I would like to write. I know, it seems like every couple of months, I’m coming up with a new idea, and every time I tell myself that this is going to be the best story ever. It’s a very bad habit of mine that I’m working on fixing bit by bit… but honestly, this may actually be the best story ever ūüėČ I’ll¬†make that claim with even more¬†sincerity¬†once I actually finish writing it!

¬†Last but not least, I plan on posting to this blog on a more consistent basis, as opposed to the ‘whenever I feel like it’ philosophy that I’ve been abiding by until now. I feel that¬†I have a duty to all of my loyal followers to show my appreciation for your support by giving you something to look forward to, say… once a week? I will make it happen, just you wait and see.

I would love to hear what your new years resolutions are, so if you feel like sharing, leave it in the comments below. I might even pick some of the ones I enjoy the most and feature them in next weeks blog. In the meantime, make the most of what this year has to offer, and as always, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

