Star Wars: Making A Comeback

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds,

The end of my final semester of university is fast approaching, which means the end of my life of academia and the beginning of what I hope to be a fruitful career in journalism, and perhaps one day, as a bestselling author. It is both exciting and terrifying, a typical feeling experienced by university graduates who have to come to terms with entering the real world.

With impending exams and job applications, the free time I was once able to spend with a warm mug of hot chocolate, a fluffy comforter and one of the over a hundred books on my shelf has become nearly non existent. A sad truth, but necessary to ensure that I have time to read more books in the future, and hopefully finish writing at least one of the twenty books I’ve started since grade six.

I may lack time for reading, but I still manage to get out every now and then to see those movies I have waited all year to see. I am one of those individuals who are very selective about what they will pay money to see in theaters, taking into account whether I would find it just as enjoyable if I were to watch it on DVD, if I recognize any of the actors in it, whether it looks like something that has been redone over and over again or if it is genuinely unique and original, and for those that are adapted from books, whether it looks like they have portrayed the story well or if they butchered it like what happened with Eragon or the fourth Harry Potter movie.

Very rarely will I decide to go see a movie based solely on the trailer, but this just so happens to be one of those rare occurrences after seeing the trailer for the new Star Wars movie coming out next year. Why? Well, after the disappointment of the latest three star wars movies, admittedly I felt my love of the franchise wane somewhat. After watching this trailer, I felt my love was reignited, and the reason for that is two words: Millennium Falcon.

http://youtu.be/OMOVFvcNfvE

There is no guarantee that this movie won’t be a disappointment, but based on this trailer alone, I can’t help but wait in anticipation for the next year to pass so I can find out whether J.J. Abrams was able to revive this classic masterpiece, just like he did with Star Trek.

As soon as I get back into reading, I can guarantee that the first book to make contact with my hands will be the second book of the Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy. In the meantime, I encourage you to share recent books you’ve read in the comments below, and what your thoughts are on the new Star Wars movie. Until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd 

Leave a Reply

