Book Review: Star Wars – Heir To The Empire

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.

Greetings Fellow BookNerds!

I’ve been hooked on the sci-fi genre ever since I first developed an appreciation for the wonderful and constantly growing and changing world of movie entertainment. I should really be thanking my dad, actually. Even though I was born into an era where computers were playing a growing part in making realistic looking special effects, because of my dad, I was able to nurture an appreciation for what movies were like before my time, back when a string and the right lighting were enough to captivate the audience for hours on end.

My love of sci-fi began, of course, with the classic Star Trek. William Shatner, Leonard Nemoy, DeForest Kelly, Walter Koenig and George Takei had pretty much become my favourite actors, although to be fair, I was still in my Pokemon and Digimon watching phase, so I didn’t really know too many other actors yet. When I was about 10 years old, my brothers convinced me to watch the Aliens movie. Let’s just say I still have nightmares about it every now and again, but it did also make me pretty much immune to other gore and horror movies. I think it was also around that time that I watched the first Star Wars movie – or I suppose it was the 4th one, depending on how you want to order them – and like many others before me, the experience just blew my mind.

My friends used to tell me that it was impossible to be into both Star Wars and Star Trek, and that I had to choose one or the other. Well, to this day, I remain to be a loyal Trekkie with a lightsaber strapped to my belt. The stories are just so different, so how can I not be into both? I think it was just one of those things that kids did in order to classify the people they meet into groups, so they knew who and who not to hang out with. Hell, adults still do that, so I guess it’s true that in some ways, we never stop being a kid.

Although I pride myself on having an open mind, whenever someone would recommend that I read a fan fiction based on one of my favourite tv shows, I would always say no. Why? Well, it’s hard to say exactly why. I think I have just always harbored this thought that only the person who originally created the world should have the right to continue expanding that world into more stories. The problem with that way of thinking is that I’m cutting myself off from potentially amazing books, which is something I never want to do. Much like people, I never want to cast aside a book before giving it the chance to show me something I’ve never seen or experienced before, otherwise I will be left with regrets.

That’s why I finally gave in and purchased my first ever fan fiction series based on the original Star Wars trilogy, and I can safely say that I have no regrets.

By Timothy Zahn

This first installment of the Thrawn Trilogy takes place 5 years after the events of the 3rd – or 6th, if you prefer – Star Wars movie “Return of the Jedi”. The Emperor has been defeated, and Luke Skywalker must now carry the burden of being not only the first of the new order of Jedi Knights, but also the brother of one Leia Solo who is set to give birth soon to two Jedi twins. . Little does he know, however, there is a new threat to the balance of the force quickly approaching, a threat which could put both his life and that of his friends in danger. With all of your favourite original characters, like C3PO, R2D2, Han, Chewbacca, Lando, Leia, and some new faces as well, this was, in my opinion, the best way to continue the legacy that George Lucas began. So, if you’re having a hard time waiting for the seventh movie installment, which has a 50/50 chance of doing really well or completely destroying the franchise, then I would recommend putting your mind at ease by reading this book.

This is coming from someone who was completely adamant about reading fan fiction, and who now can’t get enough of it… so long as it’s good 🙂

Until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

