As One Journey Ends, So Another Begins Again

I read to live and I live to read. That's my circle of life.

“I read to live and I live to read. That’s my circle of life.”

Greetings Fellow BookNerds

It feels as though eons have passed since my last post, and I suppose in the world of the internet that would be an accurate measurement of time. There is a very good reason for my absence – notice how I say reason, and not an excuse, although more times than not they are one and the same – and that reason is my future.I’d say that’s a pretty good reason ^_^

Time really does seem to fly when you spend four months in a town you’ve never heard of, working for people you’ve never met, trying to meet tight deadlines without succumbing to the stress of the job. Don’t get me wrong, though, I would love more than anything to relive it all again, because as I keep telling people, I learned more about journalism in the past four months than I did during my four years of university. It’s further proof that hands on training is the best learning experience.

So in case you haven’t caught on by now, I am a journalist… or rather, I am training to become one. I spent four months out in Huron County doing an internship with a newspaper in the rural town of Blyth, a place I had never even heard of until I applied, and a place I will not soon be forgetting. It was one of those places where everyone knew each other, and it seemed like they all contributed to the paper in one form or another. Although I highly doubt that any of my future jobs will be anything like it, I still feel that it was a step in the right direction.

The place I got to know and love the most, I think, was Goderich, which apparently has been designated as the prettiest town in Canada. I can see why. Just driving into the town is a breath-taking experience, with trees as far as the eye can see, the glistening Maitland River running through and around it, flowing right into Lake Huron, its shores upon which the town rests. I have never been to a place quite like it, and I hope to return one day to marvel in its beauty once more.

Until that time, however, I shall continue my studies in Ottawa, and time permitting, catch up on my blogging. This is perfect timing, to, as I have officially finished reading the first book in the Mistborn Trilogy. All I could really say when I got to the end was… wow. Just, wow. It was the same feeling I got after watching Joss Whedon’s Serenity; a combination of amazement, shock, tears, giggles, and interspersed with moments of utter disbelief. For those who have read it, I think you understand those sentiments. I hate to sound redundant, but there really is no series out there like it.

I shall bid farewell to you for now, and I need not remind you all that any comments, questions or suggestions are always welcome if you wish to jot them down in the comment bubble, and until next time, happy reading.

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

