New Publishers, New Books, New Year!

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

How quickly time passes sometimes. It’s hard to believe that it has been nearly two whole months since last I posted something, and it is not for lack of nothing to say. The month of November was plagued with essays, projects and exam preparations, while December… well, aside from exams, it really wasn’t all that busy, but my brain has a tendency to shut down for a few weeks following that taxing exam period 🙂 That does not, however, mean that my love of books and reading them has waned in the least! I have many new books to share with you all, but first, I have some BIG NEWS!

A dear friend of mine has recently started his own publishing company, which you should know as fellow book lovers is a pretty big deal in the world of literature. Its official launch is in January, but you can already get to know a bit about them by visiting one of the following web locations:

Drawn Forth Publishing - Stirling, Ontario Drawn Forth Publishing: Books for a Better World

Facebook: www.facebook.com/drawnforth

Website: www.drawnforth.org

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DrawnForth

Whoever said that literature was a dying art was greatly mistaken, for it is alive and well so long as there are skilled writers with limitless imaginations, and publishers willing to give them the opportunity to share them both with the world. I’d like to wish them the best of luck, and I hope all of you lovely BookNerds will do the same.

Now on to the next bit of news!

As I am sure I have mentioned time and time again – to the point where you guys are probably sick and tired of hearing it but I’ll probably keep mentioning it anyway – I am a bit of a slow reader. I like to take my sweet time while I read, which means that months can pass and I’ll still be on the same book. However, that hasn’t stopped me from building up my reading collection, providing me with even more books that I’ll be able to enjoy as I’m sitting in my rocking chair, poking the ceiling above me with a broom every time the upstairs neighbors get a little too rowdy.

One of the new books I purchased is actually one I had been meaning to get my hands on for quite some time, but I could never seem to find it. Although thinking back, I’m sure I could have found it on Amazon and ordered it in no time, but I’ve never been a big fan of online shopping. I like to go out and physically see and feel the things I’m going to buy, so that there’s less of a chance of me wanting to return them later on for whatever reason. Fortunately enough, I succeeded in finding the one I was looking for…

Good Omens Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

So many people have accused British humor as being dry, lifeless and just the kind of humor that goes right over your head. Well to those people, I say go buy any of the books written by Terry Pratchett or Neil Gaiman, and tell us what you really think. This book is witty, clever and at times I literally feel like my side is going to split because I’m laughing so hard! I never thought a book about angels, demons and the anti-Christ could be so wonderfully funny, but I guess that’s what happens when you get two of the worlds most brilliant authors working together.

On top of finding this little treasure, I also received the best birthday present one could get; an entire book series! Admittedly, I had never even heard of the series before, but after reading the first couple chapters of the first book, I felt guilty about my ignorance, as it is just so bloody amazing…

mistborn-trilogy Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

Just another fantasy book? I think not. Sanderson has a way of making every character relevant to the story, even if they only make a five second appearance. The protagonists are very multi-layered, making it hard to tell whether they’re the good guys or the bad guys, but either way you can’t wait to see what they do next. I’ve always had a hard time finding books that had a good, strong female character, who doesn’t immediately become a damsel in distress as soon as a handsome, muscular man appears. Vin is an excellent female heroine, one whose strength lies in her ability to read situations and react to them in a way which benefits her, without being annoying or too full of herself. Then there is Kelsier, the kind of male protagonist who you can’t help but be on his side, no matter what horrible thing he does. I’m only two chapters in, and already I can’t wait to see what kind of trouble they get into next!

  So many books to read, yet so little time to read them in. I guess I’ll just have to keep doing my best, and perhaps stop buying books for a little while so I can catch up on the ones I already have… nah! I’ll come up with a much better new years resolution than that. Speaking of new years resolution, I would love to know what my book loving followers have in mind regarding their vows for the new year! If you feel like sharing, feel free to do so in the comments below. I’ll try to get things started, as soon as I can figure out what my new years resolution is going to be 😉

That’s all for today. For my next post, I’m hoping to get a bit more insight into the up and coming publishing company Drawn Forth, in order to give you guys more details as to what kind of services they will be providing, and possibly even point some of you up and coming writers in their direction. Until then, bundle up nice and warm next to the fireplace, and happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

4 thoughts on “New Publishers, New Books, New Year!

  1. Wow! Thanks for the exciting mention! Drawn Forth Publishing is excited to begin working and interacting with all of you! I wanted to note that our website is currently down but will be back up soon! Please feel free to check out our facebook and twitter in the meantime!

  2. Thanks for the update on the website! I’m looking forward to all of the wonderful things you guys will bring to the world of literature 🙂

  3. As mentioned before, I would love to hear what you all have come up with as your new years resolutions. Mine is fairly simple; spend less time watching TV, and more time reading books. Simple, yet it will allow my to finish reading more books, which I can then recommend to all of you lovely BookNerds. Happy New Years everyone!

Leave a Reply

