Book Review: Return to Tyendinaga

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Many days have passed since my last post, and my excuse for that can be summed up in one word: University. Try as I might, I can only split my attention in so many directions at once, and this blog has the unfortunate pleasure of being pushed to the bottom of my priority list. This does not, however, mean that my presence in the online literary realm is doing to disappear anytime soon, for if there is one life lesson University has taught me, it’s that life is better spent doing the things we love than begrudgingly doing the things we hate. Of course, that’s just the idealistic side of me talking, which always sounds good in my head but doesn’t always apply itself practically … but that’s a discussion for another day.

So, as I’m sure you’re all aware by now, I am what you would call a ‘slow reader’. I like to think of myself as a ‘detailed reader’, but I won’t deny the fact that I take my time when I read. This of course means that the frequency with which I post new book reviews is akin to, let’s say, the time it would take a person to print a full length novel using a dot matrix printer. It also doesn’t help that I have a tendency to give in easily to the little voice inside my head which is constantly chanting “buy more books!”. I suppose that little voice could be telling me to do worse things, so perhaps I should be thankful ^_^

Between my workload, my attempt at a social life, and the constant unpredictability of life, I recently managed to finish reading a novel, one which is very different from anything I had ever read before. In recent years, I have found myself more and more drawn towards the realm of non-fiction literature, which is rather humorous seeing as I used to scoff at the mere mention of ‘non-fiction novels’. I suppose it could be a journalistic influence, placing me into a mindset which see’s the value of real life heroism that I was all but blind to before. After reading this most recent novel, I found myself to be in a state of awe, for there really is no limit to what human beings can accomplish when their belief is strong enough.

ReturnToTyendinagasm Return to Tyendinaga: The Story of Jim and Melba Loft, Baha’i Pioneers by Evelyn Loft & Patricia Verge

stars-4

Let me just start by saying that this book is based on a religious orientation, more specifically that of the Baha’i Faith, but it is not restricted solely to those who share those beliefs. There is much to be gleaned from these types of novels, whether you believe in God, science, or simply in your own existence. This book, for instance, is the story of Jim and Melba Loft, a married couple from the mid 1900’s, who sacrificed so much and went to great lengths for something which they believed in both heart and soul. It’s essentially a compilation of quotes, letters, photos, and a retelling of events based on what those who knew the Lofts could recall from their brief or lengthy encounters. Theirs is a story of hardship, loss, redemption, love and change, at the heart of which is their new found belief in something bigger than themselves.

That’s all for today. I have already started reading another novel, so you can probably expect another review before the end of the year ūüėČ Until then, I will try to continue posting as often as possible, and as always, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

