Nothing Like Starting Your Day With …. A NEW BOOK!

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

It’s been so long since my last post on here, you probably assumed that I fell into a black hole, got lost inside a laboratory, befriended a strange cube covered in hearts, and went stir crazy because the cake was a total lie! Rest assured, I am safe and sound, and there is cake a plenty ^_^

The reality of the situation is that I have been working really hard to get my two other blogs up and running, which I have been partially successful in doing. My News blog – MyInquisitiveCerebrum – is ready for viewing and following, although knowing me there are bound to be hundreds of changes made in the near future. For the time being, though I am fairly content with the results. My other blog – The Nerdtastic Life – is still in its initial stages, and probably will be for the next couple of weeks; you never realize just how busy your summer will be until it gets here, and then all that free time fly’s right out the window.

To welcome myself back, and as a present for all of you avid readers, I present to you yet another book which I have decided to add to my collection. Okay, I wasn’t exactly intending on purchasing another book, but when it’s only five dollars and sitting on the shelf right in front of me …. how could I resist? Unfortunately, I’m currently in the process of reading two books simultaneously, so I probably won’t get around to  it for quite some time. In the meantime, though, here is a brief synopsis of the book and what previous reviewers have had to say about it!

12book The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Legend Begins…

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia to be raised in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles. “The best of all the Greeks” – strong, beautiful, and the child of a goddess – Achilles is everything the shamed Patroclus is not. Yet despite their differences, the boys become steadfast companions. Their bond deepens as they grow into young men and become skilled in the arts of war and medicine – much to the displeasure and the fury of Achilles’ mother, Thetis, a cruel sea goddess with a hatred of mortals. When word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the men of Greece, bound by blood and oath, must lay siege to Troy in her name. Seduced by the promise of a glorious destiny, Achilles joins the cause, and torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus follows. Little do they know that the Fates will test them both as never before and demand a terrible sacrifice…

Reviews

“At once a scholar’s homage to the Illiad and a startilingly original work of art by an incredibly talented new novelist” – Ann Patchett

“Mary Renault lives again! Ravishingly vivid” – Emma Donoghue

“I loved this book. The language was timeless, the historical details were slipped in perfectly.” – Helen Simonson

“Miller’s prose is more poetic than almost any translation of Homer” – Guardian (UK)

I have always been a big fan of the legends and heroes which were bred out of Ancient Greece. I once did a project for the science fair which was all about comparing how ancient civilizations explained certain natural phenomena, like the sun and rain, and how we explain those same phenomena today with science. It proved how creative the mind can be when it seeks an explanation for something which they would otherwise not have due to their limited knowledge of the world or ways to observe it.

If you have read this book already, feel free to leave your thoughts on it in the comments below, but do try to avoid any spoilers if possible. Also, feel free to check out my News blog and even follow it if you find a news story which interests you. I look forward to hearing what you guys have to say, and until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

