My First Trip to Comiccon …

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Before regaling you all with the tales and images of my first experience at Ottawa Comiccon, here are some other news headliners that came up over the weekend:

Toronto-Maple-Leafs-vs-Boston-Bruins Last night was a crucial game for the Leafs, for their continuation was dependent upon their victory against Boston. Fortunately, the pressure improved instead of impeding their game play, and they managed to snatch a 2-1 win. Tonight at 7pm, we will get the chance to watch them face off against the Bruins yet again, only this time it will be on Boston’s home turf. We might just get to see them climb out of the rut they’ve been stuck in, and witness the hoisting of the cup by their hands instead of the other team.

Boston-Red-Sox-vs-Toronto-Blue-Jays After all the money they put into the team, the Toronto Blue Jays have finally shown that the money was not going to waste. They creamed the Boston Red Sox 12-4, and it doesn’t look like the winning will stop there. Tuesday, with the return of suspended player Melky Cabrera to the team, will be facing off against the Giants.

helicoptercrashHonolulu295 A helicopter suddenly lost power and crashed into a busy street in Honolulu last Wednesday, thankfully resulting in no fatalities, although a certain parked car might say otherwise. It was a small helicopter which was being used to take photographs. If it had been a full sized one, then this may have turned into a very different story …

abc_jodi_arias_trial_thg_130206_wg Just a few days ago, Jodi Arias was convicted of having committed pre-meditated first-degree murder, but people are still waiting with baited breath to hear whether she will be exposed to the death penalty, or a slightly more lenient sentence of life imprisonment. 

tamerlan-tsarnaev-grave-1 One of the suspects of the Boston Bombing, Tamerlan Tsarnaev, was buried last week in central Virginia, much to the displeasure of people living near the burial site. Most of them are upset because no one consulted them before the burial took place, while others fear who might be stopping by to pay their respects. His brother, Dzhokhar, is in police custody, charged with the use of a ‘weapon of mass destruction’.

This is just some of what was headlining the news over the weekend, but the biggest story for me right now is what took place in Ottawa during that weekend…

My First Trip to Comiccon…

I traveled up to Ottawa by train Friday afternoon, along with my sister, our bags hoisted over our shoulders and Comiccon tickets packed away safely inside them. After four hours of rain spattered windows and crying babies, we entered the capital of Canada and hailed down the first taxi in sight to take us the rest of the way to our hotel. Our lodgings were quite lovely, and the beds were so comfortable that after half a day of traveling, we dropped off to sleep almost immediately.

We rose bright and early Saturday morning, knowing full well that the lineup was going to be ridiculous: and we were right. We got there just before 10am, which was a mistake since we had general admission passes, and therefore wouldn’t be let in until 11am. Only the VIP’s were being let in early, which meant an hour of waiting under the tents with a thousand other people for us. Fortunately, we got to catch a glimpse of the amazing costumes we would get to see once we were actually inside.

DSC02045  DSC02093

Tired, slightly damp and legs aching from standing for over an hour, as soon as we passed through the front doors it all went away and I couldn’t stop smiling. I had been waiting for this all semester, and now that the day had finally come, I could hardly believe I was there! I only had a moment to bask in the excitement before I was swept away by the horde of people behind me. As we walked through the exhibit doors, I made sure I had my camera at the ready; I did not want to miss a moment of this.

The highlight of this trip came to me after standing in yet another line, but the wait was well worth it when I found myself in the same room as Nathan Fillion and Jewel Staite. Unfortunately, I was unable to take any photos, seeing as cameras were strictly forbidden during this panel, but trust me when I say it was among the top ten greatest moments of my life. I had come to convince myself that celebrities only existed on television or in photographs, and that I would never be able to witness their existence with my own two eyes. That changed yesterday. Granted, it was from the back of a very large room, but I could see and hear them, and that was good enough for me.

After that, we spent the rest of the day weaving our way through Creepers and Bounty Hunters, only stopping long enough to refuel ourselves at Tim Horton’s before continuing on. At 4pm, we found ourselves in yet another line up, only this time we had the sense to be one of the first ones there so we didn’t have to worry about squinting just to see. To my great pleasure, cameras were indeed allowed this time, and I got some pretty good footage of non other than Nicholas Brendon from Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Criminal Minds.

DSC02109 DSC02101

He definitely had his wit about him as he took to the stage and had the crowd laughing and cheering from start to finish. It was actually the end of his Q & A session which made me smile the most, and the video below should give you a pretty good idea as to why:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nhj2ZyGIis

After taking a few more pictures, we finally decided to call it a day. I would have loved nothing more than to spend the entire weekend at Comiccon, but all good things must come to an end. Still, my final thoughts on this event is that it was well worth the money, planning and waiting, and I look forward to going again next year.

That’s all for today. If you would like to see more photos, you can visit “The World In Writing” facebook page, or if you want to see the more professionally taken photographs, visit the Ottawa Comiccon facebook page instead. I would also love to hear about your experience at this years Comiccon: was it everything you were expecting? Better? Not worth all the hype?  Share your thoughts in the comments below, and until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

 

 

Leave a Reply

