Words of Wisdom: Neil Gaiman

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Before getting to the focal point of today’s blog, I would like to give a HUGE thanks to all of my followers. I have never taken on this kind of internet responsibility before, with people hanging on my every word and sharing what I have to say with others. I mentioned this before, but my goal is to become an established Opinions columnist, and this has essentially become one of my stepping stones for getting there. Thanks to you all, I have more confidence than ever in my ability to gauge people’s interests and deliver a unique and personal insight on the matter. Hugs and high fives all around, and I hope to be able to continue meeting your expectations in the future ^_^

Now, before I get all teary eyed, let’s move on to the main event for today. To follow this weeks ‘book’ theme, I decided to dig up another quote for the Words of Wisdom segment. This weeks quote comes from British author Neil Gaiman, who wrote such brilliant masterpieces as Good Omens, Coraline, and American Gods. He also made an appearance alongside author John Green and his brother – and established music artist – Hank Green at Carnegie Hall for “An Evening of Awesome”. I’ll post a clip of the event at the end of the post, but for now, let us bask in the wisdom of this man’s wit as he addresses the existence of our dreams …

neil-gaiman-lantern_0

(Neil Gaiman, 1960 ~ present)

“People think dreams aren’t real just because they aren’t made of matter, of particles. Dreams are real. But they are made of viewpoints, of images, of memories and puns and lost hopes.”

Just what you would expect from a man whose imagination knows no bounds, inspiring thousands to realize their own dreams by fulfilling his own. I first became aware of this author back in high school. One of my friends, whom I have known since early childhood, would read chapters of Good Omens to me on the bus every day. She told me that I would like it even before she started, and like every other time she said that, I fell in love with this author’s work. We never did manage to get to the end of that book before high school ended, but I have been a die hard fan of his ever since.

I would love to hear about how you guys were introduced to his work, and what you first impression was:

  • What books of his have you read?
  • What did you think of them?
  • How do his books differ from any others you’ve ever read?

Leave your thoughts and opinions in the comments – just click on the speech bubble in the top right corner – and if you haven’t read any of his books before, or are unfamiliar with the identity of this author, then I think a little bit of research is in order 🙂

That’s all for today. As always, happy reading, and here is the video clip I promised you:

Cheers,

BookNerd

One thought on “Words of Wisdom: Neil Gaiman

  1. Pingback: Some of my favourite books | Syllable in the City

Leave a Reply

