Mourning the Loss of Harry Potter Actor Richard Griffiths: Gone But Never Forgotten

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Movies have this way of immortalizing people, capturing them in a collage of their lifetime which can be looped over and over again. It is this film immortalization, sadly, which makes it all the more difficult to accept it when one of those people finally meets their mortal end.

According to the BBC newspaper, as well as a multitude of posts on my Facebook home feed, British actor Richard Griffiths passed away today of heart complications.

richard-griffiths-855095l

Richard Griffiths (1947 ~ 2013)

People are most familiar with his work in the Harry Potter series, playing the role of Harry Potter’s uncle, Vernon Dursley. He played the part like no one else could, capturing the very essence of that rich, spoiled, arrogant, wizard prejudiced uncle who wanted nothing more than to squash the magic out of his nephew. When I saw him in the first movie, I was surprised and pleased to see that the man stepping into that characters shoes looked almost identical to what I had imagined. Just goes to show that for every role, there is an actor who was born to play it.

Richard Griffiths lived a fulfilling career, acting in a wide range of roles from King George in Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, to Magistrate Phillipse in Sleepy Hollow, and even the voice of Jeltz on Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. On top of his success, he has won various awards, and has the kind of face that anyone would recognize at a glance.

His passing is a great loss, for his talents were unique and unmatched by anyone else. I tip my hat to this man, and offer my condolences to the family and friends he left behind.

Here is a video of him and fellow harry potter actor Daniel Radcliffe on Entertainment Daily News:

Richard played a pretty big role in Daniel’s life, which is evident from what he was quoted having said in The Guardian:

“In August 2000, before official production had even begun on Potter, we filmed a shot outside the Dursleys’, which was my first ever shot as Harry. I was nervous and he made me feel at ease […] Seven years later we embarked on Equus together. It was my first time doing a play but, terrified as I was, his encouragement, tutelage and humour made it a joy. In fact, any room he walked into was made twice as funny and twice as clever just by his presence. I am proud to say I knew him.”

Daniel Radcliffe, The Guardian

He was loved by those who knew him, and loved by those who didn’t. That is not only the mark of a truly amazing actor, but also the mark of a great man.

That is all for today. Feel free to leave your thoughts and stories about Mr. Griffiths in the comments, and as always, happy reading.

May he rest in peace.

BookNerd

2 thoughts on “Mourning the Loss of Harry Potter Actor Richard Griffiths: Gone But Never Forgotten

    • Although I was never overly fond of Uncle Vernon, I still felt he played a crucial role in Harry’s life. I think I will miss both Mr. Griffith and his on screen character 😦

      BookNerd

Leave a Reply

