Another Book for my Collection

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

So, with the power out and nothing else to do, I spent my Earth Hour in downtown Ottawa, rummaging through the various books at my all time favorite place within walking distance; Chapters! I hadn’t been in a while, on account of me being busy with homework and a plethora of other things, so it made for a nice change of pace. I was only planning on looking, not touching, but of course I should have known better ^_^

I went into the store with my hands empty, and came out with a big smile and the famous works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle contained within the bag swinging at my wrist. I could barely wait to get home before immersing myself in the stories. Thank my lucky stars it was too dark out, otherwise I would have been reminded of my nasty habit of becoming motion sick when I walk and read at the same time … really, just any kind of motion coupled with focusing on tiny words seems to turn my stomach, which is bizarre but it is what it is.

Anyway, back to the more important point to this story. I only had the chance to start reading the first Sherlockean tale, A Scandal in Bohemia, but I could already feel myself slipping into the shoes of the brilliant detective. As you know, I am a huge fan of the newly remade versions of Sherlock Holmes, most notably the BBC series Sherlock where they took this historic icon and placed him within a modern setting. The main reason I bought this book, aside from the fact that it was 80% off, is that I wanted to see how much the character had changed. Even though Sherlock has existed within different time periods, and had come upon different varieties of crime, I have found that the personality and overall attributes of the character have remained the same! It’s amazing! No matter how much Sherlock’s surroundings have changed, he himself has remained more or less unchanged, and I think that is why I find him so fascinating ^_^

So, the book I found is called The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, and it is a compilation of the first 12 Sherlock stories ever published. Each story is about a chapter long, so it probably won’t take long to get through, but sometimes a story doesn’t need to be a thousand pages long to be worth reading. Here is the books synopsis, for those of you unfamiliar with this crime solving detective:

collins-classics  Sherlock Holmes was transformed when he was hot upon such a scent as this. Men who had only known the quiet thinker and logician of Baker Street would have failed to recognize him. His face flushed and darkened. His brows were drawn into two hard black lines, while his eyes shone out from beneath them with a steely glitter.”

“Set against the foggy, mysterious backdrops of London and the English countryside, these are the first twelve stories ever published to feature the infamous Detective Sherlock Holmes and his side-kick Doctor Watson. They first appeared as stories in the Strand magazine and feature some of his most famous and enjoyable cases, including ‘A Scandal in Bohemia’, ‘The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle’, and ‘The Red-Headed League’.”

So, if you’re like me, and you’re impatiently waiting for the third Sherlock series to finally air, then I would recommend you pick up a copy of this book. I’ll give you a complete book review once I have completed the 12 stories, but I can tell you that there are very few books that make me want to read no matter where I am, and this is one of them.

That’s all for today. I would be interested in knowing how you all spent your Earth Hour on March 23rd: did you take a walk? Go to a party? Take a nap? Figured out a formula which would allow for time travel? Let me know in the comments, and until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

 

Leave a Reply

