Happy Birthday Mr. Rogers: Looking Back at our Childhood

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Today, if he were still alive, would have marked the 85th birthday of non other than Mr. Rogers!

Fred-Rogers-9462161-1-402 I remember being a little terrified of his the show Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood, mostly due to me not being overly fond of puppets. They reminded me too much of ventriloquist dummies, which thanks to GooseBumps I would feel like screaming every time I saw them. However, the show itself is one that I shall always associate positively with my childhood, for it was a time spent not only watching television but also spending time with my brothers and sister.

This is going to be a short and sweet post today, as I have somewhere I’m supposed to be heading to in a few minutes, but I thought that this deserved at least a quick mention. For whether or not you were a fan of his show, he is a historical example of what television used to be like for children before violent and inappropriate shows like Family Guy and South Park took over. They sure don’t make television like they used to. To finish off, here is a remix video made by PBS Digital Studios which I think does his show, as well as his life, proper justice:

That’s all for today. If you have any memories or thoughts you would like to share about Mr. Rogers and what it was like for you growing up watching this show every morning, feel free to do so in the comments. Until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

