Harry Potter: From Books to Musicals

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

The Harry Potter books are the reason I became so absorbed in the literary world. I read the first one back in grade four, when a friend of mine lent it to me. Before I started reading it, I thought it was just one of those passing fads that everyone was into only because everyone else happened to be reading them. Still, I decided to give it a shot anyway. Worst case scenario, I spend a few day reading it, decide I don’t like it, and I move on to better things. Well, let’s just say that by the time I put down that book, I was a muggle who yearned to take the train to Hogwarts and be sorted into the Ravenclaw house. 

shield_rav  I own every book, as well as every movie, and I’ve read and watched them all several times over. Once both series had ended, I went through a Harry Potter withdrawal of sorts. It’s always sad when a story ends, especially when you can think of hundreds of other characters or plot lines that could have been introduced to keep the series going. Thankfully, every good series leaves behind it a devoted fan following to pick up where they leave off, and some of the things they come up with are mind-blowingly awesome.

Another friend of mine, about a year or so ago, introduced me to a video on YouTube called A Very Potter Musical. Just like the Harry Potter books, at first I thought it sounded silly. I mean, I musical about wizards? I still think it sounds rather absurd, but I can assure you that this is must see for both fans and non-fans of Harry Potter alike. I should warn you, thought, that the content is not meant for younger audiences, as it does contain swearing and sexual innuendos. Aside from that, it is an entertaining compilation of a few of the Harry Potter books, put on by StarKid, and accompanied by some really catchy tunes. Here is a clip from the first Act of A Very Potter Musical:

I spent many a day in the library, studying for exams while playing this musical over and over again in the background. After a while, I wanted to mix things up a little bit and play something new in my study background. That’s when I discovered that there was, in fact,  a second musical! A Very Potter Sequel is done in a similar manner, mixing a bunch of the different story lines together and acting them out in a musical fashion. I found it to be just as good as the first, possibly even better. Here is a clip from the first Act of A Very Potter sequel:

Two amazing musicals, put on by a group of amazing actors, bringing the magical world of witchcraft and wizardry back to life, and it doesn’t end here. They put together a third, and final, installment of this musical series, called A Very Potter Senior Year. I have yet to see it myself, but as exam time is just around the corner, I have a pretty good feeling that every time I think about the concept of reflected appraisal within the context of interpersonal communication, I’ll be hearing harry singing in my head at the same time.

I would like to give my personal thanks to all of the actors of Starkid productions for putting on what has to be one of the most entertaining and enjoyable musicals I have ever been exposed to. You did my first and favourite book series justice, and even though this is the last installment of the harry potter musical series, I will continue to follow your work to see what you guys come up with next.

That’s all for today. Until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter: From Books to Musicals

    • These are definitely some of the most amazing and side-splittingly funny musicals I have ever seen. I wish they would make more!

      BookNerd

Leave a Reply

