A Weekend of Spring and Relay for Life

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

Today was the first day I didn’t have to worry about bundling up just to go down to the grocery store. In fact, I was wearing nothing but a sweater and jeans and it still felt like I was dressed to warmly! The warmth isn’t even what I love most about today. It’s the smell that comes with it. It’s hard to describe it, but when I stepped out that door and filled my lungs with the morning air, the first thing to pop into my mind was Spring. Even there were many things I was supposed to be doing, I just couldn’t help but take a walk down the streets for no other purpose than to soak in the sun.

Unfortunately, knowing the track record of this city, this kind of weather will be short lived. Still, it’s a nice break from the overcast days of snow and rain, sometimes simultaneously. It’s also nice to be able to walk down the sidewalk without fear of slipping on black ice ^_^

To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to write about for today. Due to the nice weather, I’m suffering from what I like to call ‘lazy brain’, where not matter how many things I feel like doing, my brain refuses to take part. This usually results in me taking a nap in the hopes that my brain will feel rejuvenated enough to function more cooperatively. However, there is something that I would like to bring up, if I haven’t done to already.

A few months from now, at the end of May, I will be taking part in the Peterborough Relay for Life. I did this last year as well, and even with the rain and high winds, it was still an impressive turn out. I will be joining the ranks of the same group again, ‘Friends Fighting Cancer‘, and we hope to do just as well, if not better, than last year in terms of collecting donations. So, to get the jump on things, here is the link to my relay page: Relay for Life 2013 Donations

Relay for Life

You can choose to sponsor me separately, or you can chose to sponsor us as a team. It can be any amount, no matter how big or small, and keep in mind that all of these donations will be going to the Canadian Cancer Society in order to fund the cancer research. It’s an uphill battle, but trust me, one day curing cancer will be like nothing more than treating the common cold.

That’s all for today. Don’t forget to donate to our Relay for Life team, and until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

 

Leave a Reply

