HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY!

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

International-Womens-Day-2013

I remember my younger days, when I thought nothing about being a girl. I was perfectly happy with rolling around in the mud, playing with toy trucks and punching my younger brother in the arm when he bugged me ( don’t worry, I’m not violent by nature … usually ^_^). I never really thought about what it meant to be of the female gender, because they both seemed the same to me. It wasn’t until I started wearing dresses and playing with barbie dolls that my role became a little more apparent. Even though I still enjoyed doing what the boys were doing, I could tell that they wanted me around less and less, simply because I wasn’t as aggressive or rambunctious as they were. When I think back on it now, though, I managed to keep up with them fairly well, considering how shy and introverted I was most of the time.

Now, I am a young adult, studying to become a journalist, and there is no doubt in my mind that I am of he female sex. And you know what? I couldn’t be prouder. I am by no means a feminist; you can call me dude all you want, and I really won’t be able to care less. However, even I have to agree that women have come a long way from what they used to be. It’s hard to think of a time when I wouldn’t have even been considered a human, simply because my anatomy is a little different. Although, if there was an alternative to being a human, like an elf or a warlock, then that would be pretty cool, but that’s just the wishful thinking spurred by my ridiculously active imagination. I am proud to be both human and a woman, even if there are times where I quake in fear.

You hear on the news about women being raped and beaten, sometimes by complete strangers, but other times by the person they loved the most. Although I could never imagine having that happen to me, I’m sure they never thought  it could happen to them either. The world can be a cruel and confusing place, especially for women. However, it can also be the most wonderful experience. Just like men are capable of feats that are out of our reach, we are also capable of accomplishing tremendous things that even the most brilliant man could never fathom. Even if it was just child birth, that’s pretty amazing in and of itself. Growing a child within our bodies, and then going through the excruciating pain of bringing him or her into this world; no man can ever experience that … well, unless there is an alien race existing within the universe where everything is reversed … but it’s not very likely ^_^

So, for all you women out there, although you may suffer many hardships, and perhaps it may seem like being a woman is more of a curse than a blessing, just keep in mind that there are millions of other women being born everyday, and they will need someone to look up to. Become the proud woman that everyone should strive to be, for then we can truly celebrate this day!

That’s all for today. Happy Women’s Day everyone, and as always, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

One thought on “HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY!

  1. I would also like to thank everyone who has been following my blog so diligently, for we have now reached 1,000 views! This has been my first time taking on something of this sort, so although there are much more successful blogs out there than mine, this still makes me indescribably happy.

    Thank you BookNerds!

Leave a Reply

