Word of the Week

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

With another test down, and having completed an essay I was certain would take the rest of my lifetime to finish, I can finally take a moment to rid myself of all this unnecessary stress. So, to start off my day or so of relaxation – that’s university for you – how about we add yet another word to our infinitely expanding Dictionary of Awesome!

Today’s Word of the Week is…..

Quintessence

Quintessence Within the Universe

Definition: “The aspect of something regarded as the intrinsic and central constituent of its character.”

Synonyms: epitome, essence, heart, source, substance, principle.

Origin: This term can be traced as the 15th century, used most commonly in medieval philosophy in order to find meaning in ‘essence’. It was defined as being “”pure essence, substance of which the heavenly bodies are composed,” or even more specifically the fifth essence, as the term ‘quinte’ means ‘five’, and essence … well, I think that’s self explanatory. The other four essences, or ‘elements’ as they are more commonly refered to, are fire, wind, earth and water. This fifth element was added by Aristotle, believing it to be at the center; the purest substance.

My reasoning behind choosing this as my word for this week as due to the constant pounding of philosophical terminology into this brain of mine, which I must admit is not accustomed to perceiving the universe and our existence within it in such abstract and complicated terms. Why is it that knowing I exist is no longer enough to allow me to exist? I suppose I can see the benefit of opening my mind to other possibilities instead of simply accepting the obvious.

That is all for today. Until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

