Star Wars: Just as Good on Paper

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

It may not be sunny, but it’s perfect weather for a train ride. As promised, this post is coming to you from inside a ViaRail train heading to Ottawa. At this moment, we’re so close to the water that I can see the individual waves lapping onto the shore, taking with them what little snow remains. I do hope we are blessed with at least one last snow flurry before Spring begins to invade, but who knows what will happen given the crazy weather patterns we have experienced thus far.

Anyway, as I was waiting for the train, I nearly got lost in one of the new books I had bought last year with my Christmas gift card to Chapters (that’s all I ever ask for ^_^). It is a Star Wars trilogy, and I would like to point out that I do not read a lot of science fiction; I prefer enjoying that particular genre in television or movie form,  to be quite honest. Still, as I am familiar with the background story, not to mention being a big fan of the Star Wars film series up until the new ones came out (sorry, I’m just not a fan), I found the transition to the books to be rather seamless. In other words, they are easy to get into, and the continuing storyline so far is perfectly believable. I won’t give away too many details, as I have only just started the series and I am prone to changing my mind in an instant, but I will tell you that if you liked the original star wars trilogy, even just a little bit, then you will most likely enjoy these books.

Star Wars: Heir to the Empire (Volume 1) by Timothy Zahn

Star Wars: Heir to the Empire In a nutshell, it is the continuing story of Luke, Leia and Han, after the Empire had fallen, and how Luke – now a Jedi Knight – is trying to rebuild the Empire from the ground up. I can’t say too much more without giving the story away, but trust me, you will want to read this.

I will let you in on my final thoughts once I have finished reading the first volume. If you have read it already, feel free to leave your opinions and thoughts in the comments. I would advise you, though, to avoid revealing any spoilers. I absolutely despise it when people give away major plot points in a story, especially when I planned on reading that particular book later on, and I’m sure you guys find it just as irritating. Other than that, go to town ^_^

That’s all for today. I would say that I plan on getting some sleep for the next 4 hours until I’m back in Ottawa, but trust me, that will not end up happening! So until next time, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

