Famous Last Words

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow Booknerds!

HAPPY FAMILY DAY!!!

Family-Day-Logo-at-15.01.2013-1

Today not only marks the end of the family day weekend, but also the first day of my university reading week, which will hopefully involve some actual reading. To start things off, and since I haven’t done this one in a while, I decided to start the week off with some Famous Last Words ^_^

H.G. Wells

H.G. Wells, as I am sure most of you know, is one of histories most universally recognized science fiction writers, responsible for the creation of classics such as “The Time Machine” and “War of the Worlds”. He passed away back in 1946, but not before uttering what, in my view, is the probably the most ironic phrase anyone could utter before dying:

HG-Wells“Go Away. I’m All Right”H.G. Wells

Well, clearly he wasn’t alright. This just goes to show that not all last words are going to be some profound, epic statement, expressing a realization that comes from the mental clarity preceding death. I’m pretty sure I would be a little to preoccupied with my sudden confrontation with my own mortality to say something witty or cleaver.

That is all for today. As always, I am open to comments, questions or concerns, which you can leave in the comments here, or on the new Facebook page. Enjoy your family day and/or your reading week, and as always, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

Leave a Reply

