Word of The Week & Happy Valentine’s Day!

nerdfighters rules Hello Fellow BookNerds!

It has been a long time since I actually looked forward to the arrival of this candy giving, flower clipping, paper heart cutting holiday. When I was little, and I got to put on my little red dress and go to school with a bag full of valentine’s day cards, I was so giddy with joy. It was all about having fun! It’s just not like that anymore. If you ask me, this holiday stresses too many people out. Why should there only be a single day designated to expressing how much we love or care about someone? It should be a daily endeavor, and not necessarily  laden with gifts from the store.

hearts

I will confess, though, that I could not have been more excited this year about the arrival of this day, because …. well, let’s just say my mind is not filled with evil thoughts every time I see a couple walk by ^_^

Now it’s time to move on to my favourite topic: Word of the Week!

Today’s word is….

ARDENCY

ValentineTiger

Definition: Conveying feelings of warmth, passion and fierce affection

Synonyms: fieriness, emotion, keenness, joy, passion, warmth, spirit.

Word Origin: This word appears to have originated from the 14th century, and is derived from the adjective ‘ardent’, which usually referred to alcoholic beverages known as ‘spirits’ and the burning sensation that comes from consuming them. Now, it is most commonly used in the figurative sense, such as passionate emotions.

If you’re thinking about writing a poem for that special someone, this would be a pretty good word to pop in there ^_^

That’s all for today. I hope everyone, single or not, is able to enjoy themselves today, and as always, happy reading!

Cheers,

BookNerd

 

2 thoughts on “Word of The Week & Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • Hmmm, let’s see … pleasantry, latency, fallacy, harmony, symmetry, complacency, decency … that is all I can come up with off the top of my head. I do hope this helps ^_^

Leave a Reply

