Words of Wisdom

nerdfighters rules   Hello All!

I don’t know about you all, but I always find it side splittingly hilarious when people thing that it’s the biggest insult in the world to call someone a nerd. I’ve been attached at the hip to that stereotype my whole life, and I just don’t see any kind of negative context associated with being a nerd. Intelligent, literate, insightful, high achieving and into video games; what’s the down side?

This quote from non other than my favourite author, John Green, really says it best:

John Green   :

“Saying ‘I notice you’re a nerd’ is like saying, ‘Hey, I notice that you’d rather be intelligent than be stupid, that you’d rather be thoughtful than be vapid, that you believe that there are things that matter more than the arrest record of Lindsay Lohan. Why is that?’ In fact, it seems to me that most contemporary insults are pretty lame. Even ‘lame’ is kind of lame. Saying ‘You’re lame’ is like saying ‘You walk with a limp.’ Yeah, whatever, so does 50 Cent, and he’s done all right for himself.”

– John Green

People really need to start coming up with better insults, because most of the ones that may have worked thirty years ago just aren’t going to cut it anymore. You can call me a nerd all you want, but the only reaction you’re going to get from me is a smile and a ‘thank you’.

That’s all for today. As always, happy reading,  and for all of you nerds out there, stand tall, because soon a time will come when calling someone ‘cool’ or ‘popular’ will become the most insulting stereotype.

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

