Poetry Time!

Hello All!

As you may have noticed, I neglected to post on the weekend. With midterms coming up, and essays coming due, I don’t have as much time to post as I would like. This being the case, I have made the difficult decision to only update my blog on weekdays. If I happen to suddenly get struck by spontaneous inspiration on the weekend, and I have a spare moment to indulge myself, then I will post something on the weekend. Otherwise, I will remain in a two day hibernation cycle until the end of the semester.

Alright, with that business out of the way, let’s get to today’s topic.

I don’t know about you guys, but I thoroughly enjoyed dabbling in the poetic arts last week. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I decided to make it a permanent weekly segment. Today, my poetic inspiration derives from the ecstasy I felt as I laid eyes upon the falling snow.

Snowflake

If I Was a Snowflake

I would shine and shimmer,

                  Gleam and glitter,

                               Bright like the noonday sun.

I would travel for miles,

                     Carried by the wind,

                                 Moving without a sound.

I would be entirely unique,

                       One of a kind,

                                  No one would be able to compare

I would flaunt my beauty,

                 Show off my crystalline figure,

                                  And seek out the spotlight

I would sit on people’s hats,

                              Refusing to melt,

                                          And then be on my way once more.

I would travel to London,

                                   See the sites,

                                            Dance on the pedals of a rose.

I would seek out celebrities,

                Like Benedict Cumberbatch,

                          And spend some time on his nose.

If I was a snowflake,

                 This life would be ideal,

                                  But alas it cannot be.

For the life of a snowflake is temporary,

                    Fleeting, and completely beyond my control.

                               On second though … I don’t want to be a snowflake!

Just in case any of you were wondering, I don’t tend to follow any of the conventional poetic structures. I’m a free stylist, always have been. I have nothing against structures writing, but I find that it can become kind of boring and redundant to read haiku’s and quatrains all the time, even if the content differs from one to the next. I prefer things to be more spontaneous and abstract. It also helps when it appeals to my inner nerd, hence the Benedict Cumberbatch reference.

That is all for today. If you have any comments, questions or concerns, feel free to jot them down in the comments. Enjoy the snow while it’s here, and until next time, happy reading!

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

