Temporarily Bedridden

Hello All!

I know I told you that I would be giving you yet another overview of my time spent at the NASH conference today, but unfortunately I have been stricken with a rather untimely and irritating cold virus. I suppose the beginning of a semester is as good a time as any to fall ill.

This means, of course, that I may not be able to post for a few days. Some of you may be disappointed, others perhaps remain indifferent, and then there are those who just don’t really give a hoot. I figure it is better to write higher quality blogs while I am in good health, than to spout out a bunch of nonsense while trying to to sneeze all over my laptop.

I would, however, like to make one more comment about the NASH 75 conference before I go on this brief hiatus. Many of the speakers reinforced things I already knew, while others presented ideas that I would never have conceived of in a million years. But what I found to be the most remarkable is that even though they continued to repeat things like “not everyone is suited for journalism” or “it’s a hard job, and there’s no guarantee of finding work”, it still didn’t dampen my passion for it. In fact, I feel as though it made me even more motivated to work hard and prove to everyone around me that I am not just clinging on to a dream that has no hope of coming true, but a dream that has every hope of coming true. I love stories, whether it be reading or writing them. I love trying to understand why people either feel a need to help others, or to hurt them. I love the idea of knowing what’s really happening on the other side of the world, and not just what I can see in my backyard.

I live with no regrets, or at least I try my utter best to, and I think that’s how everyone should live. People get so caught up in their own little worlds, their own little problems that have a very simple solution most of the time. I’m not saying that this is the case for everyone; I am not one to generalize the actions of a few onto the many. It just happens to be a fairly common occurrence. I’m sure everyone has had moments where they will get home after a long day, curl up in bed, and then realize that they did a lot of things that day that were, to put it bluntly, self centered. I suppose it’s natural human nature to put our needs before others, but there comes a point where “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the one” (star trek contains much more wisdom than most people realize).

I guess my message for today is that during my struggles to learn all there is to know about becoming a journalist, I have come to notice that my world is actually pretty small when compared to the bigger picture. There is so much going on around the world, and it’s time that I stepped outside of the boundaries that I put up for myself so that maybe, one day, my world might become just a little bigger.

That’s all for today. I will try to get well as soon as possible, but until then, happy reading!

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

