NASH ’75 Day One … And Two

Hello All!

I have entered my first legitimate day of NASH (although technically I’ve been here for two days) and I am having the time of my life!

Nash75-Redesign-Responsive-web

The thing  I love most about this conference is that people who come here have done so voluntarily, and with a specific purpose in mind; to educate themselves about the journalism career that they are working towards. Everyone behaves so professionally towards one another, which is not easy feat when you have a hotel full of first year to graduated university students.

I have only had the chance to listen to a couple of the guest speakers they invited, but so far I have been enlightened, entertained, and engaged much more than I thought I would be. I imagined it to be much like sitting in a classroom, listening to someone much smarter than you give a long winded lecture about what you should and shouldn’t do. This was nothing like that. It was more like having an intellectual conversation with someone who has been where we want to be, and who hasn’t let their position go so much to their head that they feel the need to flaunt their achievements. They are both humble and humbling, and I think that is what makes this kind of event memorable in the most positive way.

At the end of the conference, I will provide reviews about the speakers, as well as any pictures I may have (the camera never gets put away), but for now there is just so much to do, see and learn. I will say, however, that the highlight of the trip thus far was being able to see the Toronto CBC headquarters from the inside! I couldn’t believe I was standing within the walls that housed some of the most famous news stories, not to mention faces, from the CBC. The experience was so overwhelming.

I will keep you all posted, but until then, happy reading!

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

