Words of Wisdom

Hello All!

I am just about halfway through reading An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, which has to be one of the best novels I have ever read. Of course, I say that about all of the John Green books I have read, but it has yet to be proven otherwise. Anyway, I came across an interesting Greek quote that he used in his novel, when the protagonist Colin Singleton was contemplating the idea of fate, and whether or not fate is what brought him to a certain place (sorry to avoid specifics, but as you know, I hate spoilers). It was quoted from Democritus, an ancient Greek philosopher who is most readily known for his work on the atomic theory, uncovering a strain of logical reasoning for the nature of things.

democritus

I found this quote to be of particular interest because it addresses something that I find myself constantly wondering about, which is whether or not certain things in life are actually fated to happen, or if it is simply a series of random events that result in curious coincidences:

 

Everywhere man blames nature and fate, yet his fate is mostly but the echo of his character and passions, his mistakes and weaknesses.

Democritus

 

Are we slaves to our fate? Are we all just waiting for a half giant to knock down the door to our house and send us down our pre-destined path (I was sort of in the middle of watching Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, in case you were curious about the random reference)? Is fate something that someone else chooses for us, or is it something that we create through our own actions? It definitely gives you a lot to think about, but it is best not to spend too much time dwelling on the “how’s” and “why’s”, lest the world will pass you by. That does not mean it should not be pondered, but there is a time for pondering, and a time for living.

This is my little piece of wisdom for the day. I hope everyone is as excited as I am for the coming year, and maybe trying to read through those last few books on your list before going out to buy a whole new set of books to read in the new year.

Cheers 🙂

3 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom

  1. I really like this amazing quote. I am doing an English presentation for this book and I want to quote the page this quote was in… I can’t find it!! Can you please tell me the page number ? Thanks in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

