The Hobbit: Lived Up to the Novel

Hello All!

Three days home, and I have had little chance to actually sit down for more than five minutes! I imagine many of you are just as busy, whether it be with work, attending parties, or perhaps just finishing up those last few preparations for the Holidays. Either way, I hope you all have a chance to see The Hobbit!

SPOILER ALERT!!! IF YOU HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE HOBBIT, DO NOT READ! THERE WILL BE REFERENCES MADE TO SPECIFIC PARTS OF THE FILM!

I saw it just before coming home for the holidays. It was the best way to unwind after having written four exams, an essay and then working to rid myself of a nasty cold before taking the train home. I was absolutely exhausted, but as soon as I started watching this movie, all fatigue was gone, and I was brought back to my grade four English class where I had read The Hobbit for the first time. It felt like I was reliving the experience, nearly jumping out of my seat when I saw the familiar three trolls arguing about how to cook the dwarves, or the eagles that came to their rescue. My childhood came to life before me, and it was just as amazing as I remembered.

Okay, so nothing can be perfect, and this movie is no exception to that rule. However, the imperfections were so subtle compared to the magnificence of the film, that they are almost not worth mentioning. In fact, if you have never read the book, then you wouldn’t notice any of the changed or added details. Either way, fantastic movie, amazing effects, and Martin Freeman did an excellent job at portraying Mr. Bilbo Baggins.

My favourite part of the film was with the Brown Wizard, and how he rode a sled pulled by a pack of rather large rabbits. I do not recall whether or not that was a part from the book, but either way, it was the most entertaining. I also love how they did the fight scene between the dwarves and the goblins. It’s no easy feat to have so many computer generated creatures fighting against dressed up actors, and have someone co-ordinate it well enough so that it looks believable!

I am already anxiously awaiting the release of the second Hobbit movie. Until then, it’s back to the books!

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

