One Book Closes, Another Book Opens

Hello All!

You will be happy to hear that I have finally finished reading The Third Twin by Ken Follett, and have now moved on to something else. First, however, I’ll give you a little bit of my feedback.

The first books I read by Ken Follett were historical fictions that took place back in the 1100’s or 1300’s, and they revolved mostly around certain characters trying to make a living. In the first one, it was about a man trying to build a cathedral, and the second one featured the construction of a bridge, as well as the reconstruction of certain parts of that same cathedral. In other words, they both followed similar story lines that made it easy to transition from one story to the next, but still allowing you to find something new and exciting by having a whole new cast of characters.

The Third Twin

“The Third Twin” is completely different. It’s a more modern style novel that focuses on a cover up of genetic experiments that were performed back in the 70’s, where they tried to breed humans with the desired physical and personality traits, and how one woman studying at a university funded by the business behind these experiments, Genetico, ends up unearthing their little conspiracy entirely by accident. It has a completely different feel than all of the other books of his I have read, but trust me, it is just as good. In fact, in many ways I liked it better, but mostly because it is easier to relate it back to modern society and our current scientific progression.

I said this before, but I will say it again now that I’ve actually finished reading it: I recommend this book to everyone! Okay, maybe not everyone. Just like in all of his other books, there are some rather descriptive sections that are not meant for everyone. Personally, I think it makes the story all the more believable, but if you become squeemish when faced with highly descriptive violence or sexual content, then you should probably find something else. Otherwise, this book is amazing. If you’re into law, science, cloning, genetics, and huge business cover-ups, then this book is definitely for you.

Now, on to the new book!

I only started it today, but already I’m hooked. What can I say? I become hooked on any book that’s written by John Green! That’s right, it’s another teen fiction novel full of witty humor, clever anecdotes, and a great assortment of characters, each one of which you cannot help but get attached to.

An Abundance of Katherines

This one is called “An Abundance of Katherines“, and it’s about a high school teen named Colin Singleton who has been dumped 19 times, each time by a girl named K-a-t-h-e-r-i-n-e. I have only just begun to read it, and already I feel like I know Colin Singleton. I would say he’s your typical teenage boy, but he’s actually a bit of a genius. His smarts came at the costly price of his social skills, which you will come to understand as you read his story. Oh, and I should mention that he is obsessed with anagrams, which I just find thoroughly amusing.

I’ll fill you in a little more about the book once I’ve had a chance to read it from cover to cover, but trust me when I say anything written by John Green is a must read!

Cheers 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

