Word of the Week: Godspeed

It has been decided: I will present one new word a week, including a definition, synonyms, and a bit of history to go along with it. I hope to be able to enrich both your vocabulary and my own. If you happen to have more information about the words presented, or perhaps you know some interesting words yourself, share your thoughts and ideas in the comments below.

This weeks word is: Godspeed

The first time I came across this word was while I was watching Battlestar Galactica, and I just assumed it was a term that they created for the show, similar to their word ‘frak’ (I think it’s pretty evident what word they were replacing). It wasn’t until I started hearing it used in other shows, and even in books, that I realized to my embarrassment that it is an actual word found in the dictionary.

God•speed

Definition: Success or good fortune

> Expressing good wishes for another person’s success, good fortune and/or safety.

Synonyms: farewell, bon voyage, adieu

History/Origin: This term was first used in the 15th century, derived from the original Middle English spelling god spede, where its most common use was found in Holy Scriptures. Despite its name, it has nothing to do with actual physical movement, but more as a means of wishing others success, good luck and prosperity.

That was the word of the week, and don’t forget, I am always open to comments or suggestions.

 

Leave a Reply

