I Love To Ride My Bicycle

I always flinch whenever I see a cyclist riding alongside trucks and cars on a busy street. There’s barely enough room on the street as it is with vehicles coming from both ways, and those wonderfully courteous people who think it’s wise to park along the sidewalk in a high traffic area. There are some cyclists who choose to ride on the sidewalk, which is definitely safer, but with it being the main means of travel for pedestrians, we sort of run into the same problem.

This is what I like about Ottawa. Not only is the road divided so that there is a special lane only for cyclists, but they even have stands set up where you can rent a bike for the day. It promotes fitness and offers a means of transportation that allows you to fully appreciate the sites of Canada’s capital.

The other day, while I was walking through the streets of downtown Ottawa, taking a nice little reprieve from exam studying, and I cam across one of those bike lanes. What was interesting about these ones is that they weren’t just divided by a white line, but something that ensures that vehicles cannot intrude upon this reserved space. Instead, they have sections of concrete barriers along the left hand side that  keep the two sections of road separated from one another.

I keep telling myself every year that I should bring my bike with me to Ottawa, and seeing this gives me yet another incentive. My main concern came from the thought of riding in the middle of a busy street, but with these newly constructed bike lanes, it definitely seems more appealing.

In the famous words of Queen: “I love to ride my bicycle, I love to ride my bike”!

 

Cheers 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Love To Ride My Bicycle

    • It was my pleasure, and thank you very much for commenting 🙂

      I agree, bike lanes really should be available everywhere. Not only do they encourage people to bike from place to place, which is both healthier and pollution reducing, but they also make cyclists feel more comfortable when cycling alongside motorists.

Leave a Reply

