Is Crime Hereditary?

I know, I know, it’s been quite a while since I last posted a book up here for you all, and although I have a strict rule of not recommending anything I haven’t first read from cover to cover, I think I am willing to make yet another exception. The fact is, even without reading this particular novel, I can already give you my personal stamp of approval for it.

As you may or may not know, I have developed a taste for historical fictions, most notably the works of the infamous Ken Follett. The way he is able to weave the facts together in such an entertaining and captivating manner makes him nothing short of a literary genius. Thus far, I have read through Pillars of the Earth, World Without End, and A Dangerous Fortune, all of which were absolutely phenomenal. Now, we all know that no one is perfect, and so for that purpose I will confess one thing that nearly put me off reading them. No, it wasn’t not the amount of detail he used when illustrating those rather … promiscuous scenes (I am rather fond of euphemisms, as you can tell). I will admit that I found it rather shocking at first, but when I considered the time period and the social norms that went with it, I was able to rationalize those parts of the story. But I digress.

The main component to a story that I find the most intriguing is the character development. I can’t stand it when I character remains static throughout the entire novel. I like to see them go through a series of changes that is reflective of the changes humans go through in reality as they encounter new obstacles and accumulate a vast number experiences. Don’t get me wrong, there was plenty of that in his novels, but there’s the rub; there was A LOT! To be more specific, there were a great deal of different characters, and they all went through their own personality shifts. The more characters you have to focus on, the more difficult it becomes when trying to sort one character from another. All of their paths end up converging in the end, but when they all begin in several different places, it’s like reading several stories in one and it becomes a bit disorienting at times.

With that one criticism out of the way, all that’s left to say is that his books really are a rare treat, and I will now reveal to you the fourth book of his that I am partway through at this moment.

The Third Twin by Ken Follett

Have you ever wondered whether the children of serial killers carry that same incline towards aggressiveness as their parents? Or how close identical or fraternal twins really are right down to their genomes?  This book gives us a peak at studies being conducted on just that, focusing on the life of one man in particular who went from being your average, stand up citizen, to a convicted murderer … but is he really the guilty one? Here’s the book synopsis to get you started:

“Young scientist Jeannie Ferrami discovers a baffling mystery. Two young men, law student Steve and convicted murderer Dan, appear to be identical twins. Yet they were born on different days, to different mothers. Jeannie investigates, but shadowy forces retaliate and Steve is accused of a terrible crime. As Jeannie falls in love with him, can she be sure he is different from his evil twin? Solving the mystery will mean deadly danger.”

Ken Follett Bibliography

Perhaps its best that I have yet to reach the tale’s end, for that makes it less likely that I will give away any spoilers, and we all know how frustrating that can be.

For now, I bid you adieu, and as always, you are most welcome to share with me any of your thoughts, comments, or criticisms on the books I have recommended, and to even recommend your own books for both myself and everyone else to read.

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

