What I Wish to Remember

Today, we remember those who sacrificed themselves in the pursuit of peace, and those who continue to strive towards that same goal today. We show our respect by wearing bright red poppies over our hearts, and bask in a moment of solemn silence. We go through this the same time every year, but what are we really remembering?

Someday, I wish I could look back on this day and smile because war would no longer be looming above our heads, and the peace we were supposed to have a long time ago would finally be a reality. I do not wish to show disrespect for the veterans and the soldiers, nor for the families who have lost someone dear to them. No, I simply want to express my hope that someday the fighting will stop, and the peace that soars high above us on the wings of an elusive dove will fly down to earth, bringing that peace to everyone around the world.
Call it wishful thinking, but that is the hope I cling to every day.

The white poppy seen above is a symbol of peace, which some choose to wear on this day. There are people who feel offended by its presence, but there really is nothing to feel offended about. My heart aches every time I think about men and women taking up guns so they can go out and kill fellow human beings. I cry when I think about the children in war-torn countries who may get caught in the cross-fire. How many people must die for a cause that should have been fulfilled long ago? Peace does not have to be an empty word anymore.

If you wish to learn more about the White Poppy and its significance, follow the link to this website:

White Poppies are for Peace

If this has offended you in any way, I do apologize, but I wish to stress that these opinions are mine alone, and I do not speak with the intention of disrespecting the beliefs of others. If you would like to show your support for my ideals, or make clear your opposition, then feel free to leave a comment below. This day means something different to everyone, and I would be more than happy to listen.

 

Leave a Reply

