Have you carried Water for Elephants?

I do believe I have stated this at some point before, but there are very few novels I have read for the purpose of school studies that I have actually enjoyed. One of my English classes in University, fortunately, has relatively good taste. I’m sure most of you are probably familiar with the book Water for Elephants if you have taken an english universty course that studies literature. It’s a classic, and I can understand why; there is nothing else like it. I have yet to finish the novel in its entirety, but since I have not recommended in a book in quite some time, I thought it would be okay to make an exception this time. So, here is a little synopsis, and some of my thoughts:

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Orphaned and penniless at the height of the depression, Jacob Jankowski escapes everything he knows by jumping on a passing train – and inadvertently runs away with the circus. Thrown into the chaos of a second-rate traveling show, Jacob is adrift in a world of freaks, swindlers, and misfits …

Trust me, this book will take you for a ride. Each character has a life of their own, created with such substance that you can’t help but want to find out how their lives will turn out as they take you through their life as circus performers. Jacob seems to out of place at first, and even though he never seems to entirely accept his new life, you can see how he starts to find his place among the ruffians. I would like to warn you that there is some rather adult content, and by adult I mean ‘sexual content’, so do read with a certain amount of discretion in mind. Otherwise, enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

