It All Began with the Spider in the Window

So, here is a little taste of my creative writing. I wrote it during my stay in Ottawa, and it was actually inspired by a spider I noticed sitting in someone’s window every single day. I hope you enjoy it, and I would like to stress how much I would appreciate it that you keep in mind that this is one of my original works, and I would like to keep it that way ^_^

It all began with the spider in the window.

Honestly, I don’t think I would have paid it any attention if the man in front of me hadn’t been dragging a trail of toxic gaseous chemicals behind him. I didn’t want to breathe, but after the failure of my swimming lessons of grade one, I didn’t feel it was wise to try holding my breath yet. As I turned my head to avoid the wafting smoke cloud, my eyes were ensnared by the furry black body hanging in front of . . . well, I’m going to assume they were yellow ducks on the curtain, but they definitely weren’t your average yellow ducks.

 

Anyway, it all began with the spider on the window.

If I didn’t know any better, and I can think of so many times where I don’t, I would have sworn that the spider was doing some kind of upside down yoga. It was kind of interesting to see, like watching a nature video, only without the dramatization of certain situations to make them seem more intense and dangerous than they actually are. I wonder if lion’s eyes actually glow like that . . .

 

Okay, so it all began with the spider in the window.

Normally I would stop and examine these types of things more closely, but it was one of those situations where I had someone walking uncomfortably close behind me, and coming to an immediate halt would have been just asking for trouble. However, I did walk a little more slowly. I tried to imitate one of those scenes in a movie where the character starts moving in slow motion, and somehow they’re able to see things from far away with absolute clarity. It would be so cool if we could actually zoom into things, taking in all of the little details and giving it some deeper meaning. Man, television has all of the coolest things.

 

As I was saying, it all began with the spider in the window.

As I moved slowly passed the window, my eyes focused unblinkingly on the spider, I noticed something odd. There was no doubt that it was a spider, but it wasn’t like any spider I had ever seen before. I’m not quite even sure how to describe it, if there is even a way to describe it. It had nothing to do with its physical appearance; it looked just as disgusting as any other spider I’ve ever seen, although maybe not as scary. I guess you could say that it gave off some kind of vibe, but how do you really describe a vibe? I just had this gut feeling that this spider was different, but whether it was in a good way or a bad way I can’t really tell . . . maybe it was stocking me! Hey, I’m sure there are people out there other than me who have felt those eight tiny black eyes following them as they walked by. No, I don’t think that is the vibe . . .

 

All I know is that it all began with the spider in the window.

I continued to walk past it, but for a short time I was able to keep an image of the spider in my mind. I just couldn’t shake off that freaky vibe . . . Actually, within the span of those few seconds, I came to realize that it wasn’t the spider that made me feel this weird feeling, but it was the fact that I had seen a face in the window behind the spider! I don’t know how I managed to miss something like that, but I knew after I thought about it that the spider was simply sitting on the window, admiring the world from its little square, completely vibe free.

 

So as you can see, it really did all begin with the spider in the window.

It ended, however, with the vibe from the face watching me from behind the window pane. The funny thing about all of this, whether there is any point to this story or not, is the fact that I can remember the exact appearance of the spider, and yet the face is just a complete blur. I don’t know if it had something to do with the fact that I’m terrible at remembering people’s faces, or if my eyes were just far too focused on that spider. All I know is that the spider made me feel a little less fearful of the face beyond . . . Oh, and now that I think back on it, I think that spider was missing a leg. Either that or it was hanging in a really funny position where its legs were overlapping to give it the appearance of a missing limb. Crazy acrobatic spiders!

Leave a Reply

