Cheap Books are Good Books!

So, the other day I made my first trip ever to Value Village, which shocked most of my friends and colleagues. Just another reminder of how I have failed to remain in touch with this generations shopping habits, but I digress. The purpose of this little adventure was to find clothes that suited my rather bizarre fashion sense – or lack of one, to be more precise – but somehow it did not quite work out that way. Alas, after finding only a few articles of clothing that met my picky criteria, I couldn’t help but notice a nicely stocked book shelf calling out my name. Although it paled in comparison to places like Chapters, the prices just couldn’t be beat, and I talked myself into buying two books that I have always wanted to get, but was too off-put by the price to actually purchase. I have yet to read them, but the premises sound most intriguing:

1. The Law of Nines by Terry Goodkind

“Turning twenty-seven may be terrifying for some, but for Alex, a struggling artist living in the Midwest, it is cataclysmic. Something about this birthday, his name, and the beautiful woman whose life he has just saved has suddenly made him – and everyone he loves – a target. A target for extreme and uncompromising violence.”

 

2. The Sandman by Neil Gaiman and Ed Kramer

“There is a dark king who rules our dreams from a place of shadows and fantastic things. He is Morpheus, the lord of dreams. Older than humankind itself, he inhabits – along with Destiny, Death, Destruction, Desire, Despair, and Delirium, hi Endless sisters and brothers – the realm of human consciousness. His powers are myth and nightmare – inspirations, pleasures, and punishments manifested beneath the blanketing mist of sleep.


I have read work by both authors, and I fell in love with their imagination coupled with their unique writing styles. However, I would still appreciate some feedback from those who have read these two works in particular, preferably without any spoilers 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

