Another Ken Follett Masterpiece

A Dangerous Fortune” by Ken Follett

I just finished reading “World Without End” by Ken Follett not too long ago, and I must say that for such a lengthy book with so many different plot points, I felt as though I was going to cry as I read the very last page. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on another one of his novels, and fortunately my wish was granted!

I have only just begun to read A Dangerous Fortune, but it’s one of those books where once you start reading it, it’s nearly impossible to put it back down. It’s set in the late 1800’s, London, and it starts off right away with a murder and a criminal cover up. Here’s the synopsis:

In 1866, a schoolboy drowns in a mysterious accident. Present are Hugh Pilaster and his older cousin Edward, the dissolute heir to a banking fortune and Micky Miranda, son of a brutal South American landowner. Caught in the ensuing maelstrom are sly matriarch Augusta Pilaster, rich heir Solly Greenbourne and slum girl Maisie Robinson. Micky Miranda uses blackmail and murder to advance his family and threatens the whole British economy.

I’ll give more feedback once I finish the book, but feel free to post your own comments below, or even add some of your favourite books to the “Book Recommendations From You” page above.

Leave a Reply

