The End of a Cycle

“Inheritance” by Christopher Paolini

I have to admit, it took me quite a bit of time to finish this book, but it’s not because it was bad or anything of the sort. I probably should have waited to purchase it when I knew I would actually have time to read it. This lack of time to dedicate to this particular book might have dampened my experience with it, but this one fact remains; it was a pretty damn good ending!

For those of you who haven’t even heard of the series, although I don’t know why you wouldn’t have, here is a synopsis for each of the four books . . .

Book 1: “Eragon

“Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy- until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save – or destroy- the Empire.”

Book 2: “Eldest

“Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider: magic and swordsmanship.”

Book 3: “Brisingr

“Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors on the Burning Plains, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives. Still, there is more adventure at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.”

Book 4: “Inheritance

“Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances.”

The language of the books is relatively simple, but not too simple to the point where you would get bored of reading it. It is definitely more for those readers who are into fantasy, with the story revolving around magic, dragons, elves, dwarves . . . well, I think you get the idea. There was a fairly large gap between the time that the third and fourth book came out, but fortunately it comes with a summary of what happened in the previous books. Its popularity remained surprisingly high considering how long people had to wait. I won’t give too much away, but I will say that as hard as it is to come up with a good ending that ties everything up nicely, Paolini did a pretty damn good job. Oh, and there is a movie out based on the first book, but there are far too many inaccuracies, so do not replace the book with the movie or else you will become very confused!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s